Falling Upwards

Just another WordPress.com weblog

This could really be a good life, good life June 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — frannymarie @ 8:03 am
Tags: , ,

Sometimes there’s airplanes I can’ t jump out
Sometimes there’s bullshit that don’t work now
We are god of stories but please tell me-e-e-e
What there is to complain about?”
– One Republic

I’m still falling. As are people around me.
About a month ago, I found out that my source of income will be cut by a third this Fall. We barely make ends meet as it is, so in a few months, we’ll have to live beyond frugality. A few days ago, a friend texted that he was “let go” because of company downsizing. He has no savings and is just hoping the unemployment checks won’t be held up due to…whatever new reason the government has, as they so often are.

In the past week, however, I have socially met with two completely different groups of people, in an effort to expand my network for my photography business. And, despite the hardship I’m going through, and others are also experiencing, I just have to feel grateful. Because, really… life is good. Life is very good.

These folks I’ve recently met are so interesting … one a group of “lightworkers” and the other walks in the socially unacceptable “dark” fetish world, but in so many ways they are the same. In the material world, they all have their struggles. Many, like myself, have come to a crossroads where choices must be made for survival’s sake. But, in both groups, I saw laughter and joy in the company of “their” people. I saw, in people of both groups, a desire to be accepted, loved for who they are. And, yes… those wonderful people in both groups are very accepting and loving to those around them.

How could I be afraid of what’s to come for my (and my son’s) future when I know I am surrounded by good people? The fear is in the loss of the material. The hope rests in the trust and the knowledge that, in two opposing, different groups of people, there is a commonality .. that we are all the same. And, if we can all perceive and accept this, nothing else matters, and we can have a really good, good life.

 

2 Responses to “This could really be a good life, good life”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Very well said!

    Like


Leave a Reply

